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Child care background checks

The Department of Early Learning (DEL) is required by law to 
conduct background checks of applicants for employment or 
volunteer work in any licensed child care facility. 

People who need a background check may apply online or 
submit a paper application. Each applicant, whether using 
an online or paper application, must have an account in 
Washington’s child care professional registry (MERIT). Cleared 
background checks are good for three years in Washington, 
and are “portable” (the individual may use their clearance to 
work in multiple child care settings). 

The name/date-of-birth background check steps are: 

•	 Applicant submits an online or paper application.

•	 Applicant’s information submitted to DSHS for processing 
(includes criminal history check, inquiries into state court 
data system, sexual offender registry, and other state 
agency indices around professional licensing histories).

•	 DSHS returns results to DEL.

•	 DEL licensing staff review the applicant’s character and suitability by reviewing FamLink 
system child abuse/neglect information. If the applicant is disqualified, the process ends 
here. 

•	 DEL verifies the applicant has paid the processing fee.

•	 If the applicant clears the background check, the process ends here.

Anyone over 16 years old who is new to the child care field or has lived in Washington for 
fewer than three consecutive years must also have a fingerprint check done. DEL contracts 
with a vendor that collects the electronic fingerprints and sends them to the Washington 
State Patrol, which works with the FBI to process the fingerprints. The results are sent to DEL. 

The fees, paid to the vendor, for a fingerprint-based background check are $43.50 for  
licensees, employees and household members and $42.50 for volunteers. 

Licensed child care providers are required to report resignation or termination of employees 
to DEL within 24 hours if it involves negative actions and/or criminal history.

Disqualifications and reconsiderations in background checks

DEL background check rules are used in conducting background checks, disqualifying 
individuals, and in reconsidering the decisions to disqualify.

In state fiscal 
year 2014:

•	 17,956 background 
checks

•	 235 disqualifications 
(1.3% of total 
applications)

•	 27 reconsideration 
requests, 10 
approved (37%)
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DEL’s background check rules contain a provision for disqualified individuals to request 
reconsideration. The Statewide Child Care Licensing Administrator is the DEL designee 
for reconsiderations. Decisions are made after a disqualification has occurred.  The 
reconsiderations are at the discretion of DEL and are therefore not subject to formal 
administrative hearing appeal. 
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